PDA

View Full Version : Down bag mystery

earthbound
10-21-2007, 12:15
I recently bought the REI sub kilo- it is a 15 degree, down bag, fits perfect (not too big or small). I just got back from the Superior Hiking Trail and the temps were in the 40s at night. I did not compress the bag very much during the day and shook it out when I got to camp and let it lay out for several hours before I got into the bag. At night I got into the bag and was cold for hours. I pulled the cords tight around my face, didn't roll around and I was still cold. I would however wake up in the middle of the night toasty warm. It was really weird. I've never used a downbag before this so I'm wondering if this is a down bag problem or just a weird, abnormal problem. I sleep cold, but not THAT cold. I thought that maybe the bag just continued to loft over the course of the night and therefore made me warmer. Thoughts? Ohh and I used a Thermarest Prolite 3 short for my torso and put my sleepingbag under my feet.

earthbound
10-21-2007, 12:17
sleepingbag under my feet.

sorry, backpack under the feet :rolleyes:

dessertrat
10-21-2007, 12:50
How strange. . . until I read your correction, I read "sleeping bag" as "backpack", and didn't even notice the error. . . that's the power of expectations, I guess.

All I can imagine is that your "time to loft" theory might be correct. Did you take it out of the stuff sack as soon as you made camp, or did you wait until you were ready to retire?

saimyoji
10-21-2007, 13:03
Here's my explanation, and you'll get what you paid for: ;)