PDA

View Full Version : New Member.

altec
11-20-2003, 22:06
Hey guys. I just got over here from the Adirondack Forum (http://adkforum.com) and I wanted to introduce myself. I am new to the AT, but it is one of my life goals to thru-hike the AT at one point or another. I have a decent knowlegede of the outdoors, thanks to the numerous wilderness programs that I have been forced into (yes I was a bad kid for a while, but I wont bore you with that long drawn out tale ;) ) . It is good to be here, and I hope to learn a lot from you all.

Best Wishes,
Tray

Rain Man
11-20-2003, 22:13
Hey guys. I just got over here from the Adirondack Forum (http://adkforum.com) and I wanted to introduce myself. I am new to the AT, Tray

Tray,

Welcome! I'm fairly new here myself. So far I've section hiked all of Georgia this summer and fall.

Enjoy yourself on WhiteBlaze. It's fun and interesting.

Rain Man

altec
11-20-2003, 22:41
Tray,

Welcome! I'm fairly new here myself. So far I've section hiked all of Georgia this summer and fall.

Enjoy yourself on WhiteBlaze. It's fun and interesting.

Rain Man

Thank you very much for the kind welcome, it is always nice to feel somewhat wanted in a community such as this. I hope that my stay here will be long lived, and I can leech as much information about the AT as possible from you guys.

One question: For the thru-hikers out there, how long did you take to train for your journey, and how long did it take you to get from Georgia to Kathadin?

max patch
11-21-2003, 08:15
No training. Five months.

Matt Pincham
11-21-2003, 08:57
No training. Five months.

No Training. That's what I like to hear. I'm not unfit, but I could definitely be fitter. Will do a couple of practice hikes but I don't think anything's going to prepare me well enough. I'll just take it easy for the first couple of weeks.

Welcome to the forum Altec. Do you have a planned date for thru-hiking or is it still in the dream phase?

JimSproul
11-21-2003, 12:59