PDA

View Full Version : how many is tooo many mail drops?

mozzie
10-28-2007, 02:12
i have been collecting food for two years.this is free food postage is all it will cost.three cases of tvp,beef and chicken,two cases eggs,all #10 cans,10 banana boxes of miss. box full of bubble gum,pasta ,the best is dry dumplings, just like pasta but stick to your ribs good. the problem is just how many food drops are possible within reason?
the best is the oatmeal i have 3 cases of 28 boxes.heartsmart the good stuff,i plan to give a lot of it away. what do you think

EWS
10-28-2007, 02:25
One, but that is just one white boy's opinion.

For more indepth info check this out: LINK (http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/articles/resupplybook.pdf)

Lilred
10-28-2007, 02:57
I would mail my drops to the places I planned on staying, hostels, hotels... Rarely did I send one to a post office. I section the AT and waiting for Monday to arrive if getting to town on a Saturday would have drove me nuts.
some people will say you can't send too much, others will say one is too much. If you've already got the food, I'd use as many maildrops as necessary till the food was gone.

minnesotasmith
10-28-2007, 03:22
Well, Pirate would say the correct answer is zero, as none of them will possibly get there. ;) (Leaving aside that I had over 25 mail drops on my thruhike last year, ALL of which I did receive...)

I would say that the # depends mainly on how specific your food requirements are. If you can live with what Joe Bob's Convenience Store in Deliverance, Maine will have, then half a dozen is fine IMO. There are places like Neels Gap, Monson, Fontana, Kincora, and much of New England where mail drops are a real blessing to have done, but you can get by with very few.

The order of preference for where to send a mail drop IMO are, from best to worst:

Hostel you'll be staying at (open 24 hours/day, 7 days/week)

Outfitter (open 7 days a week, usually, but not 24 hours/day)