PDA

View Full Version : Summer list, suggestions wanted

coss
10-28-2007, 21:42
I'm a Whiteblaze newbie, who is a moderately experienced short-trip backpacker who has gotten his summer base weight from about 30 lbs down to about 6 lbs in the past several years. I make a lot of my own gear, both for the enjoyment of it, and so I can get exactly what I want. The following list is designed for one-season, summer-only AT section hikes of about two weeks. I've used these items on about a dozen 2-4 day trips in the Adirondacks and on the AT in Mass and CT, and haven't felt underequipped so far. However, I don't have enough experience to know if this is too much or too little for longer excursions. I am aware that another insulating layer will be needed for the higher elevations in NH (I grew up there). Please let me know what you think.

Clothes:
Wind shirt, Thru-hiker.com Liberty ridge 2.0 oz
Wind pants, Green Pepper pattern 2.2
Long sleeve shirt, EMS techwick, 100 wt 6.7
Long john bottoms, Campmor polypro 5.3
Fleece hat 1.2
Socks, basic running socks 1.4
Propore O2 rainshield jacket 5.5
Subtotal clothes 24.3

Sleeping:
Down quilt, Thru-hiker.com kit, 2 in. loft 17.2
Pad, 18 x 42 in. closed cell 4.7
Subtotal sleeping 21.9

Shelter:
Tarp, silnylon, copy of a tent rainfly 10.6
Stakes, cut down alum gutter nails, 8 3.8
Ground cloth, cut down space blanket 2.0
Stuff sack 0.4
Subtotal shelter 16.8

Pack:
Thru-hiker.com LAB pack, modified to delete the lid 10.1
pocket, hip belt, water bladder pocket, with a rolled
top, two side pockets, and a hold-down strap,
approx. 2100 overall volume
Trash compactor liner 2.5
Subtotal pack 12.6

Cooking:
Grease pot, rolled edge ground off 2.3
Lid, foil 0.4
Wind screen, foil 0.4
Pot stand, chicken wire 0.5
Children's medicine measuring cup and paper clip 0.1
Pepsi-G alcohol stove 0.4
Spoon, Lexan, tablespoon size 0.4
Fuel bottle, 8 oz. soda bottle 0.5
Subtotal cooking 5.0

Water:
1 liter soda bottles (2) 2.6