PDA

View Full Version : 'New' Average AT thru-hike pack/fso weights

Omarwannahike
11-02-2007, 15:19
Hello all,

Though ultralight seems to be thrown at the lightest item any given manufacturer can make these days; such as a 3 season tent at 4.5 lbs being called UL. Is there a consensus in what a non UL setup up weighs?

I see that many UL packs for example hold up to 30 lbs, that on it's own sounds like what most people seem to carry without being UL and that many bags are 1.5 lbs the same applies to many hiking gear, the norm has become lighter.

With say a week's worth of 3k calories a day meals, is there a number I shoot be gunning for?

Thanks and sorry for the mini-ramble

Bootstrap
11-02-2007, 15:35
I'm just learning from these more lightweight hikers, I've been trudging with too much stuff.

But for food, I think a generous amount is 2 1/2 pounds per person per day for reasonably big eaters. On average, groups seem to use more than 1.7-1.8 pounds per person, based on postings I've seen on the Internet, but I'd be hungry at that weight. On my last trip, I think 2 pounds per day would have been about right for me. So for 3 days, you're at 6-7 1/2 pounds for food, and 2 liters of water will set you back another 4 pounds.

So I'm starting with 12 pounds before I even start to consider gear. If I got all my gear down to 13 pounds, I'd still be at 25 pounds. I'm currently working on getting *down* to 30 pounds for some upcoming hikes.

Jonathan

AT-HITMAN2005
11-02-2007, 15:39
seems like most people throw around the 2lbs per day of food number. but with resupply on the trail so easy you can keep it down to 3-4 days at a stretch, less in some places.

The Solemates
11-02-2007, 15:42
seems like most people throw around the 2lbs per day of food number. but with resupply on the trail so easy you can keep it down to 3-4 days at a stretch, less in some places.

and dont carry 2 L of water. I never have more than a liter on the AT where water is plentiful.