PDA

View Full Version : Hunters Along the AT?

norman55
11-05-2007, 10:26
I'm a newbie planning a family fall hike - several days in GA and NC.

I looked at several older posting concerning hiking during hunting seasons and checked out all the do's and don't. I have reseached what is expected of both hunters and hikers but figure expectations may not equal reality.

I was hoping to get a little "been there, done that" advise on the advisibilty of being on the AT this time on year.

Thanks,
Sam

MOWGLI
11-05-2007, 10:29
Stay out of the woods the first weekend of rifle season. ALWAYS wear blaze orange during hunting season.

The ATC website should have the dates for hunting season in all 14 states.

Enjoy!

Waterbuffalo
11-05-2007, 19:05
Wear Orange Rifle Season in Georgia Started 3 weeks ago so the big rush is over

Marta
11-05-2007, 19:09
I agree with the above recommendations, and would also advise avoiding walking during low-light conditions, such as dawn and dusk. Blaze orange hats are cheap and available at every Wal-Mart, Cabelas, and hunting supply store.

envirodiver
11-05-2007, 19:12
You can find blaze orange bandanas at a lot of places too.

Waterbuffalo
11-05-2007, 21:00
I agree with the above recommendations, and would also advise avoiding walking during low-light conditions, such as dawn and dusk. Blaze orange hats are cheap and available at every Wal-Mart, Cabelas, and hunting supply store.

I agree too That is the main time hunters will be out

Deerleg
11-06-2007, 09:27