PDA

View Full Version : I'm a newbie and need some help

trey3288
11-12-2007, 13:47
I'm a college student year around and don't have much time to do a lot of hiking but got a chance over my christmas break. How does the idea of a 3 day 12/26 or 27 to 12/29 or 30 starting at Blood Mountain in Georgia sound at this time of year? Don't know much, but just need help?
Thanks
TG

A-Train
11-12-2007, 13:50
where will you be hiking? Depends on the location. Weather that time of yr can vary greatly. Could be 50 degrees and sunny, or a full on snow storm.

SGT Rock
11-12-2007, 13:51
Since you are in Mobile I would reccomend going to the Alabama Pinhoti. I've hiked it in January and it was doable.

jesse
11-12-2007, 15:53
I also belive the Blood Mountian Wilderness is a permanent no-fire zone. That might have an impact on going there in the winter. Because of the drought, there may be fire bans in a lot of places. Check before you go.

Jarhead16
11-12-2007, 20:37
Try oak mountain, no fires, but stoves are still allowed and it's only like $4 a day to use the trail and the money goes right back to the trail.

Ron Haven
11-12-2007, 22:40
I also belive the Blood Mountian Wilderness is a permanent no-fire zone. That might have an impact on going there in the winter. Because of the drought, there may be fire bans in a lot of places. Check before you go.You are right jessebrent,From Slaughter Creek trail to Neels Gap has a fire ban all the time.As I understand it Ga & NC has a fire ban everywhere at this time until further notice.As A-Train said it is unpredictable,I hiked last Sunday from Woody Gap to Neels gap and it was a picture perfect day but the only water I found was just north of Jarrard Gap where you bear back to the right and cross the small bridge.In December you may find 2 feet deep snows over Blood.

norman55
11-16-2007, 11:05