PDA

View Full Version : Packa Manufacturing (Comments Wanted)

Cedar Tree
12-02-2003, 16:57
I have some issues with the manufacturing of the Packa that I would like some feedback about.

As I've said earlier, my company is only 1 person, me. I am really a 6th grade school teacher and the Packa is just a great idea that I had. Hence, I don't have a large amount of money to invest in mass manufacture and marketing, at least at this point anyway. At this point I am patent pending and way in the hole financially with the Packa (about $6000). I do a lot of my own sewing, although I have had 170 Packas made by 2 different U.S. companies. The most Packas I've bought at 1 time is 100. They cost me $54 each at that number.

Now the problem, I am very undecided with regards to overseas manufacturing. On 1 hand, I like the fact the Packa is American made. And several of my customers have also told me they really like that the Packa is made in the U.S.

However, on the other hand, I realize the Packa could be mass manufactured overseas for a Whole lot less money per Packa than I am paying now. A whole lot less. At the numbers I am buying now, I can't get the Packa into stores because they can't compete with my price. I am currently the only place you can buy a Packa. If I add just a little mark up, say $6, and sold them to stores at $60 each, that would mean retail price would be $120, more than my current retail price, and quickly approaching "too expensive".

Should I explore overseas manufacture, or is "Made in the U.S.A" really that important to you hikers?

Thanks for any feedback you may have.
Cedar Tree

gravityman
12-02-2003, 17:04
It is not your fault that the American Textile industry is being priced out by cheaper labor in other areas of the world. As long as you are not using "sweat shops" or slave labor to have your packas made, that's just the reality of a free market economy, assuming the quality is where you want it.