PDA

View Full Version : External frame vs. internal frame

enkidu
11-17-2007, 00:31
Newbie here looking advice or the pros and cons of getting an external vs. internal frame backpack. Thanks for any thoughts.

Jarhead16
11-17-2007, 00:38
Externals provide more ventilation and are more rigid with points for hanging drying gear. BUT, internal frames tend to be lighter and more comfortable in my opinion.

Flush2wice
11-17-2007, 00:40
No one buys external frame packs anymore, at least not for use on the AT.

Cuffs
11-17-2007, 01:01

Yes they do. and yes they do. Check TJ, there are several each year.

map man
11-17-2007, 01:24
I know of at least three here on WhiteBlaze who use (and praise highly) an external frame pack made by Luxury Lite -- hopefulhiker, MedicineMan, and myself. Hopefulhiker thru-hiked the AT with his in 2005 and I have hiked the length of the Superior Hiking Trail with mine each of the last two years. Mine holds 4200 cubic inches of stuff (they are customized to your order so this will vary from buyer to buyer) and weighs two pounds. It transfers weight to the hips and away from the shoulders so much better than internal frame packs that it does not require heavilly padded shoulder straps.

Internal frame packs were originally favored for mountaineering because the weight hugs your back more closely and internal frame packs also have advantages for bush-wacking. Most hikers, though, tend to stick to trails and for that a well designed external frame does the job at least as well or better than an internal frame pack. It's just too bad there aren't more pack makers these days making external frame packs, because recent innovations in light-weight design and materials would lead to the kind of competition that would have given us some mighty fine choices among external frame packs by now.

MedicineMan
11-17-2007, 02:37
I couldnt have said it any better :)

Peaks
11-17-2007, 08:39