PDA

View Full Version : Mountaineering

Possum Bill
11-25-2007, 23:17
I guess I've watch too much "Beyond the Limit" on the Discovery Channel because I've got a big itch to do some higher elevation mountaineering next year. Being from Tennessee, the only mountains I've set foot on are the Appalachians so I have zero experience climbing on snow, ice, or anything above the tree line. I've never carried an ice axe, worn crampons, etc.

So... what I was thinking about doing was taking a few days vacation next year, flying somewhere out west, and hiring a guide service to give me an introductory course on ice/snow climbing, and then letting them guide me up to a not-so-technical summit (possibly like Mount Hood) for my first time.

I was wondering if any of you have any experience with doing something similar to this? Do you have any experience or could recommend a particular guide service? Is there also a particular mountain you would recommend for a newbie to climb??

Thanks,
Possum

stranger
11-26-2007, 00:14
Check out RMI, they lead climbs up Rainier and they are pretty damn good at the details...bring your wallet though.

Mt Rainier is a walk up, it's not technical, but it's a very long walk up.

Lyle
11-26-2007, 00:17
Doesn't NOLS (National Outdoor Leadership School) offer 4-day courses also? Seems I've heard people talk about them.

Tipi Walter
11-26-2007, 00:53
Get on this website and ask Bill S. for some info. He knows a lot.

www.trailspace.com/forums/ (http://www.trailspace.com/forums/)

take-a-knee
11-26-2007, 00:53