PDA

View Full Version : Thru Hike Shelter Help...

Passionphish
11-25-2007, 23:26
In an effort to go light, I have opted for an ultralight MLD Spinnaker Solo Tarp and a MLD bug bivy. I have a 15 degree sleeping bag, the REI Mojave, a therm-a-rest pro 3 small. I will use my backpack for the rest of my padding.

My questions are these:
-Should the pack go in the bivy with me or out side on a foot print?
-Should I have a foot print with this set up?
-Will this set up be too cold for my thru hike? (I am starting Mar 24 2008)
-would a full coverage bivy be a good option for me when I go through the whites?

Jim Adams
11-25-2007, 23:41
Sounds OK for the weather and temps and if it gets really gnarly you can always opt out for a shelter. Don't waste money on a special foot print...cut a piece of tyvek to size.

geek

Deadeye
11-26-2007, 01:17
yeah, some tyvek or even a silnylon ground sheet are all you need. I think I'd leave the pack outside the bivy so it doesn't get any more cramped than it already is.

What's the combined weight of the tarp & bivy? For 32 ounces, there are some nice solo shelters (TarpTent Rainbow for instance) out there.

Tinker
11-26-2007, 02:47
Snow is possible in March (and even April) in the higher mountains in the south. Dealing with snow under an open tarp without at least a water resistant bivy isn't something I'd like to deal with. I normally hammock in the summer and fall and use a Hilleberg Akto solo tent in the winter. I hiked the Trail in Georgia last spring using my Akto and only saw one night below freezing (the first one, on top of Springer). If I had the time to do a thru, I'd start with a light tent and switch to a hammock when it got warmer.