PDA

View Full Version : Companions? Guides? Databooks?

dgodwin7
12-10-2003, 14:26
I'm planning a 2004 SOBO right now and have been wondering about books. As I understand it...there's the Thru Hikers Companion...the AT Data Book...and the Thru Hikers Handbook. Ack! With all this published wisdom what's a poor Southern boy to do? From what I've heard the Data Book is essential. Are the others?

greyowl
12-10-2003, 14:40
I would definitely get the companion (I am a section editor for the companion) and the data book. The data book has all the information about mileage, shelters, water, and trail towns. The companion will give you all the information about what is available in a trail town. I have seen many thru hikers with the data book with notes in the margin. I personally xerox the page out of the data book to give me bigger margins and then on the back side Xerox the map of that section (reduced). I add info from the trail guide on the back (i.e step climb, historic spot, point od interest, area where camping is or is not permited etc.) The type of info put on the front side is nearest medical facility, nearest bank/atm, people who provide shuttles, etc. THe companion can be downloaded at no cost from the ALDHA website, the ATC have a list of people who provide shuttles on their website, so the only book you really need is the data book.

Disclaimer, The Companion gives a picture of the trail at the moment the section editors went out to contact the services in the book. the 2004 version is already out of date. I would definitely write down phone numbers so that one can call ahead to verify that a service is open and that the prices are correct.

Grey Owl

TJ aka Teej
12-10-2003, 14:55