PDA

View Full Version : Good Pack Choice? Anyone?

HikerMan36
12-11-2007, 10:30
Looking for any suggestions on a good pack for day hikes or 1-2 overnighters (at most) on the trail. I am not satisfied with the one I purchased and since I am new to this I thought some of the more accomplished trekkers out there could offer some advice to an (at best)
limited experienced rookie.

double j
12-11-2007, 10:35
i have a northface and the front of mine zips off for a daypack but im no vet.

Hooch
12-11-2007, 10:38
My personal pack is an REI Cruise UL 60 (http://www.rei.com/product/747520). It has about 3600 cubic inches, lightweight, comfortable, adjustable and pretty easy on the wallet. If you have an REI near you, give them a call to see if they rent them out.

MOWGLI
12-11-2007, 10:38
Looking for any suggestions on a good pack for day hikes or 1-2 overnighters (at most) on the trail. I am not satisfied with the one I purchased and since I am new to this I thought some of the more accomplished trekkers out there could offer some advice to an (at best)
limited experienced rookie.

I just bought this pack the other day online;

http://www.rei.com/product/747520

I had it sent to my Mom's in South Carolina (no tax). I'll be going there for Xmas. I also used the holiday coupon to save $20, and a $9 dividend. Cost me $110 with shipping after all the discounts.

It may not be my first choice, but the price was right and it will do the job. I plan to carry this on the JMT this summer, and for 90 miles on the Florida Trail next month. :banana

MOWGLI
12-11-2007, 10:39
Great minds think alike.

nitewalker
12-11-2007, 10:40
granite gear vapor trail is always a good choice as long as your not over 30lbs in your pack.......

Hooch
12-11-2007, 10:42