PDA

View Full Version : New guy chiming in recent trip

NorthCountryWoods
12-12-2007, 09:35
Hello all. First post for me and the wife. I've been hiking since a child (25+ years) and she's been hiking since we met (11+ years). These posts will almost always refer to "we", as we rarely do anything alone. "We" also includes our dog Junior, a pound mutt that has proven to be the worst dog on the planet, but for some reason we still love him. However, we have yet to complete a thru hike. We've done the whole LT in pieces and could probably get the certificate, but will wait til we do it all together. Have completed the AT in Maine (minus Baxter), New Hampshire, VT, Mass, CT, and Virginia. One of these days we might tie them all together.

To business:
Snowshoes and crampons are a must this year from now til spring. Unless we get a major thaw. The snow is piling up. :banana

The wife and I just got back from an extended weekend in the north. Codding Hollow Road in Waterville to VT Route 242 in Westfield. Stuck to the trail (I think) most of the time, but got sidetracked/lost a couple times. Devils Gulch and Hazens notch were tough and slowed us way down. Saw one hunter and a couple snowmobiliers in the notch but no one else. Muzzleloader season ended Sunday and the VAST trails opens this weekend. We were lucky to get 5-8 miles a day, but we take our time.

Snowshoes and crampons, ice axes and all the heavy winter stuff was necessary. We need warmer bags tho. Bibler Eldorado with vestibule worked awesome. Really kept out the wind. Broke the stove the 2nd day and cooked caveman style for the rest of the trip. We usually don't winter camp til January when it's -20 at night so this was more enjoyable.

Awesome time....if you're prepared.

p.s. Afraid this might be the last winter hike for good old Junior. He's creeping on 12 years old and doesn't handle the cold well anymore.:(

Lone Wolf
12-12-2007, 09:38