PDA

View Full Version : Need as much advice as possible!

EvilCapitalist
12-12-2007, 16:30
Thanks in advance to anyone who responds to this plea for help. I am a truck driver and have put on a significant amount of weight in 10 years on the road, but I am sick of it, and looking for a desperate solution. I have paid off my home and land and all bills and have an emergency fund in place. I am ready to do something drastic to lose this weight once and for all. I have always been overweight but this is ridiculous. I am going to quit my job and do hike from Springer north until I lose this weight. I am going to start in January, and I don't care how cold it gets or how much it snows or how steep the mountains are or how many there are. I don't want to spend a fortune, but I need the right gear. I don't care too much about food and I will just eat beef jerky or whatever the whole way. I just need to know what is the correct gear for the situation and where to get it at a reasonable price. Specifically - what is the correct winter clothing? What material should it be made out of and why? Please explain the concepts, so I will understand. How about summer clothing? What kind, where to buy and what materials and why. I was thinking of a bivy tent - something cheap and lightweight from Dick's SG. They also have a 0 degree bag that looks like I can fit in. Are these correct? I need to know about clothes basically, and is it ok to pitch a tent anywhere outside of the GSMNP? I have read everything on this website and have learned a lot ... Thanks ... but I need specifics and I don't want to spend a fortune. Please respond on this publicly, PM me, or e-mail me @ [email protected]. I will be most indebted to each and everyone of you who helps. This is just like alcoholism or drug abuse. The 1st step is to admit you need help and then do something about it. And I am. I don't care anymore. I don't want to have a stroke and kill someone's family on the road. I couldn't live with my