PDA

View Full Version : Estate Planning for Hikers

Ashman
12-14-2007, 11:20
Not sure where this goes but I thought it might be helpful especially for folks planning a Long Distance hike. I am an estate planning attorney by trade and would like to offer the Whiteblaze community some general estate planning tips and observations. Now this is a very general overview. Each state has different rules and regulations. I can’t give legal advice to people who aren’t in NC (where I am licensed) *Don Pardo voice* “Void where prohibited, some restrictions apply, this article does not constitute the creation of an attorney client relationship and is for purely informational purposes only, batteries not included”. The problem with estate planning is it conjures up a lot of different and often inaccurate connotations and perceptions. Many people tell me in so many words that estate planning means “Death Planning for Really Rich Old People”

There are several problems with this “definition” the first is old. Notice how old changes? When I was in high school 30 looked pretty old to me, now 30 looks pretty good! Second issue is “rich” people use wealth or a perceived lack of it as a way of filtering themselves out of estate planning. Lastly is “death planning”. While stating your intentions after your death is a part of estate planning, there are many facets of estate planning that have nothing to do with death at all. To me estate planning has three main components: 1) I want to control my stuff while I am alive and well, 2) I want to protect myself and provide for my loved ones if I become disabled, 3) When I die, I want give what I want, to whom I want, the way I want.