PDA

View Full Version : sleeping pad, sleeping bag, and a bivy??

treadwayal
12-15-2007, 01:29
I'm new to this and I mean really new. I have done a few day hikes but nothin over nite. I'm hoping to hike the AT with my aunt ... 3 month section. i'm hoping to get my pack to be 30 lbs or less and i'm wondering about the sleeping conditions. I'm most interested in the bivy can you please tell me what all I need.

Swirlingmist
12-15-2007, 01:45
My boyfriend introduced me to camping hammocks which I recommend over tents (no poles required). I'll warn you now though that they do require practice in getting in/out and set-up. When are you thinking of hiking the 3 month section?

treadwayal
12-15-2007, 01:53
we are goin to start late may and early june starting in Ga and are section will end in virginia

Swirlingmist
12-15-2007, 01:55
BTW - Welcome to WhiteBlaze :-)

Kudos to you for making your first post. I encourage you to browse the Articles section for background/advice as well as listening to the ones who have lots of hiking experience that I'm sure will respond here.

Hopefully, this link will work: http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/showthread.php?p=99381#post99381

treadwayal
12-15-2007, 01:57
yea i have been reading on this site just about all day ... I wanted to find all i could before asking that sgt rock is really well versed... like his stuff

Swirlingmist
12-15-2007, 02:00
we are goin to start late may and early june starting in Ga and are section will end in virginia

Ooooo - that sounds lovely. Hot - but lovely. I was in Virginia this past July. The days were hot/humid, but the nights were wonderfully cool. They made campfires that much more enjoyable.

Swirlingmist
12-15-2007, 02:01
yea i have been reading on this site just about all day ... I wanted to find all i could before asking that sgt rock is really well versed... like his stuff

Good for you! Sounds like you're on the right track.

treadwayal
12-15-2007, 02:03