PDA

View Full Version : North Alabama/Nashville area hikers???

sam4msu
12-15-2007, 18:15
I am new to the Huntsville area(Owens Cross Roads) and am looking for good day hikes and 2-3 day hikes. Any suggestions? Also looking for the names of some good outfitters in the area. I go to Nashville now and then to see the sights so outfitters up there would be appreciated also. I have been to Alabama Outdoors in Jones Valley but the kids in there seem more interested in selling overpriced TNF fleece to the "high school honeys" than in helping an overweight middle-aged guy looking to buy or talk about real hiking/backpacking gear!!! Also, are there any hiking clubs in the Huntsville area? I am a member of the North Alabama Land Trust.
Thanks to all

jlb2012
12-15-2007, 18:28
recommend PMing MDShiker (aka Stew) or SuperTroll - they are active hikers in the Huntsville area iirc

BitBucket
12-15-2007, 18:41
Monte Sano in Huntsville offers several good trails for day hikes (about 10 minutes from Owens Cross Roads) , and Cloudland Canyon over in GA northeast of Scottsboro has some good day hiking also.

Fall Creek Falls up in Tennessee (about 100 miles north of HSV) also has some excellent areas to hike, camp, fish, and golf...

The AT over at Amicalola is only about 4-5 hours away if you want to do several days

There a number of trails in Alabama....Check out the following link...

http://www.trails.com/toptrails.asp?area=10048

CherrypieScout
12-15-2007, 20:18
Go check out the Walls of Jerico in North Alabama. Very near the TN line, north of Scotsboro. One of Alabama's beautiful places.
Another is Cloudland Canyon in the northwest corner of GA. Great day hiking

Cuffs
12-15-2007, 20:39
HighCountry Outfitters just opened up in The Rocket City, find them... they are somewhat like AO, but a little more gear oriented. Also, there is a new Gander Mtn. I have not been in there, but I know they did offer a backpacking workshop back in September...