PDA

View Full Version : Anyone got Epilepsy?

Cassiusblack
12-18-2007, 14:44
So a couple of weeks ago i had a cluster of seizures. First time its ever happened. I can't drive for a year and i'm currently on medication. Now my doctor says i can't drive for a year but he thinks that i may be able to do the trail though i should probably delay it by a month (mid april now). Now i may still be on my anti seizure medication by the time i attempt the trail and i was wondering if anyone has attempted the trail while being in a similar condition.
My doctor says that its probably going to be a one off but i would be interested to know if there is anyone out there who has done the trail with an irritating medicating medical condition such as epilepsy or something worse...

Hooch
12-18-2007, 14:54
As a nurse, my first concern would be what happened if you were in the backcountry and seized again? Proximity to emergency medical care is definitely not an advantage of the AT. Many anti-seizure medications require very careful prescribing and the patient must often have levels drawn from their blood to determine if the medication is at a therapeutic level. If the level was subtherapeutic, the person would be much more likely to experience a seizure whereas if the level were too high, even to the point of being toxic, that could lead to other serious problems as well. I'm not telling you not to hike the AT, but I'd definitely thinl twice about it.

Pennsylvania Rose
12-18-2007, 15:13
I don't have epilepsy myself, but my best friend does. She has several types of seizures - grand mal, ones where she just sort of zones out, and seizures in her sleep that can cause her to freak out without being aware of it (think someone's after her and leap across the room and cower in terror, eg). Here's what I've learned from her:

- seizures can change - she started out with having grand mals as a teenager, and just recently started having the last kind