PDA

View Full Version : Hitch hiking?

tomsawyer222
12-18-2007, 21:19
:-? I am planning a thru in 09 and am facing the reality that hitch hikng into town for resupply will almost be un avoidable. I dont have to much of a probablem with it but i have never done it before.... I was wondering if any of the previous thru hikers have any tips of hints on how to do it or experiances with it

Lone Wolf
12-18-2007, 21:22
stick your thumb out and smile

doggiebag
12-18-2007, 21:26
You'd more than likely get picked up by section hikers, weekenders or anyone who has an affinity for hikers. It's not the highlight of my long distance hike. Worst case scenario start walking into town if no one picks you up within a half hour. More than likely ... you will be offered a ride on your way in. Most trail towns know what you're about and are usually accomodating. Then again I've met some hikers that enjoy the challenge of getting a hitch. It could be fun sometimes when you start competing with your buddies on who can get picked up first. It can boost or shred your ego depending on your luck that day. Just my opinion. Keep a good sense of humor and you'll be ok.

DAKS
12-18-2007, 21:27
take yer' hat off if wearing one so people can see yer' face. that's one thing i was always told? always face the the approaching/passing vehicle rather than have your back toward it. oh, and be sure to stick a thumb out!

Bearpaw
12-18-2007, 21:32
I wish Beorn would post here. He had some kind of mind-boggling hitch karma, which is saying something for a 300-pounder who wore black spandex top and bottoms. He never seemed to need more than about 5 minutes max to secure a ride.

But a couple of things that he mentioned that seemed to help:

1) Make sure your pack is visible and doesn't look like a soup kitchen. This way you look less like a bearded vagrant (which you basically ARE when you're on a thru-hike). But the trail is a known quantity in most of the corridor, and the visible pack can help.