PDA

View Full Version : Camera Help...

88BlueGT
12-23-2007, 14:44
I'm looking to upgrade from my Sony Cybershot into a real camera... a D-SLR. I have no personal experience with these cameras at all. I went to a few stores and looked and the only ones that I played with were the Rebel XTI and the Pentax K10D.

I need something that is light, rugged, weather resistant, dust resistant, and as compact as possible. But I also want something thats going to take excellent pictures. I really liked the Pentax K10D but it was a little heavy for me, but it was weather/dust resistant so I guess I will have to weigh my options. Some of the cameras that I was considering was the Pentax K10D, Nikon D80 and the Olympus E-410 or 510. Does anyone know if the Olymus cameras listed are weather resistant and what their picture quality is like? The only reason why I was leaning towards them is because the E-410 is only 13oz's. Thats MUCH lighter than most other cameras. Comparing to the K10D its almost 13oz's lighter....

Thanks guys/gals.

Painted Turtle
12-23-2007, 14:49
I am thinking you want a D-SLR because you want to shot RAW. That is the only reason I moved up. But anyway lets start with a very good alternative to a D-SLR and that is the new Canon G9. Try this site:
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/specs/Canon/

Cuffs
12-23-2007, 14:50
Are you looking to carry this camera while hiking?

FWIW, I started out with a d-slr body (Canon) but because of the bulk/shape I quickly changed back to a point/shoot body style camera. I now tote the Canon G7, 10mp and plenty of manual functions to be close to the functions of a d-slr...

Painted Turtle
12-23-2007, 14:51
PS (YOU WILL GET A LOT OF THESE) Canon kit lens are the worst on the market look at spending xtra for a good lens

Painted Turtle
12-23-2007, 14:53
Are you looking to carry this camera while hiking?