PDA

View Full Version : Marmot Trestles 15 bag...need advice

indyhoya
12-24-2007, 03:44
Hey guys,

So I need a bag for a section hike I'm planning on doing in Virginia and Maryland during the first week in March. I'd also need a bag for some possible overnights in the Northeast Ohio area during the winter months. I did a little looking and settled on the Marmot Trestles 15 ( http://www.campmor.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?productId=39174114&memberId=12500226) but thought I'd try and get some of your opinions first. First off, since I'm just getting into hiking I made the decision to try synthetic since my budget isn't very large, and I think its an ok place to start seeing that I'm not sure how much hiking I'll get to do. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Two Speed
12-24-2007, 06:05
Well, the weight's more than I'd care to deal with, but if you're gonna hike up north a good, warm bag is sound thinking on your part. Next, $70 is a great price for a quality bag like a Marmot. All things considered it looks like you're doing pretty well.

Harry Cruise
12-24-2007, 12:24
A 15 degree bag is really warm. (And Marmot's ratings are pretty accurate--There is standardized testing of sleeping bag ratings in Europe now, and Marmot's bags meet those standards. I'm sure you can find out more about this at www.bask.info. I'm too lazy to search right now.)

Personally, I've never used a bag rated warmer than 30 degrees, even in Montana and Colorado. In the winter you're generally carrying extra clothing, so you can just layer up before you go to bed. This way, you get away with carrying a lighter bag and also, you can buy a bag that won't be too warm to use in the summer.

JohnnyBongo
12-24-2007, 21:23