PDA

View Full Version : Fire towers

earlyriser26
12-26-2007, 17:12
I've been hiking the AT for almost 40 years and remember there being fire towers on many of the larger mountains. I know many that I remember are now gone. Is there a list of remaining fire towers on the AT?

STEVEM
12-26-2007, 17:26
I've been hiking the AT for almost 40 years and remember there being fire towers on many of the larger mountains. I know many that I remember are now gone. Is there a list of remaining fire towers on the AT?

There are (2) firetowers on the AT in New Jersey: Catfish Mountain Firetower and The Culver Firetower.

If you have a general interest in firetowers you might find this interesting: http://www.adk-gfs.org/fire_tower_challenge.html

Two Speed
12-26-2007, 18:47
Towers still up at Shuckstack Mountain, Albert Mountain and Rich Mountain to the best of my knowledge The tower's still in place on Wesser Bald but the cabin's been removed, which is probably a good thing; less dead weight and wind loading on the remaining structure.

The views from Wesser and Albert Mountain towers are well worth the climb, and the towers appeared to be in good to fair condition. I went up the Shuckstack tower back in '93 or '94 and came to the conclusion I'd be a lot happier on the ground. Don't believe I'd risk it these days.

No list that I know of, but sure would like to see one.

earlyriser26
12-26-2007, 18:47
The reason I asked the question is that I was looking at a section of Maine that had a fire tower on it, but no longer. I spent a windy night in the Moxie Bald fire tower after finding the fire wardens cabin below a little too rodent infested. what a shame that all the old fire towers are going away.

earlyriser26
12-26-2007, 18:50