PDA

View Full Version : Tent or Hammock

spike79
12-27-2007, 00:20
I am just getting into backpacking and I'm kinda lost. I'm a larger guy having a hard time finding a tent big enough without all the weight. I'm 6' 260 any suggestions? Was thinking about a Clarke Jungle hammock, but don't anyone that has one or used one?

Tinker
12-27-2007, 00:39
I haven't tried a Clarke, but have used a Hennessy Ultralight Backpacker Asym for a few years. Sgt. Rock has a side by side comparison on his website that you would probably like to look at.
Hennessy makes a heavier duty hammock than mine for guys your size, so don't give up on the Hennessy. I didn't buy the Clarke because it sets up a little more slowly and is heavier. I like the Hennessy because, when you lay diagonally, your back is pretty straight and the hammock doesn't hug you like your lonesome aunt Ginny:D , allowing good airflow in hot weather. Also, no zippers to break.

FanaticFringer
12-27-2007, 01:13
Welcome to the site. You might consider a Treklight double hammock. It has a 400lb. weight limit. www.treklightonline.com Eno hammocks sells one that is identical. Much cheaper than a Clark. You dont need a bugnet in colder weather. You could get one later.
Many options for a nice tarp. Check out the hammock camping archives here.
Also go to www.tothewoods.net for some really good info.
Come join us in hammock talk at www.hammockforums.net This site was started by Attroll, who helped start WhiteBalze. He is a hammock camper also.

Cannibal
12-27-2007, 01:27