PDA

View Full Version : Too late to start planning for a March 2008 start?

T.S.
12-30-2007, 01:33
Hi...newbie here. I'm glad I stumbled across this forum. I've been reading through threads for a couple hours and have already found loads of information.

Even though doing an AT thru-hike has long been in the back of my mind, it's never been something that I've seriously pursued, researched, or even considered. I'll be starting grad school next fall and it's just recently hit me that these next 8 months or so are potentially my last shot to do something like this, at least for a very long time.

From the reading on here that I've done so far, it does seem like a lot of people start planning their thru-hikes far in advance. But is it possible to pull it off within about two months?

Also, this might be kind of a broad question, but how do I figure out with some sort of certainty whether this will, in fact, be something that I'm even cut out for? Any specific reading recommendations? As excited as I am by the prospect of doing something like this, I'm also trying to be realistic and don't want to find myself standing in the woods a few months and a few thousand dollars from now wondering how the hell I managed to get myself in so far over my head.

Anyway, any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Montego
12-30-2007, 01:39
Welcome to WhiteBlaze T.S. :welcome

rafe
12-30-2007, 01:46
From the reading on here that I've done so far, it does seem like a lot of people start planning their thru-hikes far in advance. But is it possible to pull it off within about two months?

A lot of people are anal. Some plan for months, some for years.

What's your backpacking and hiking experience? Do you have the gear? Do you have the funds to pull it off?

Short answer: Yes. Or at least it's not out of the question, if you've truly got your act together. Part of that act involves securing things on the home for the months that you'll be gone.

Almost There
12-30-2007, 01:51