PDA

View Full Version : Novice Florida hiker seeking partners

ieraseu
12-30-2007, 01:47
Hello my name is Jose,

I am interested finding other hikers to possibly get together with in S. Florida for 2 or 3 day weekend hikes ( I typically have every Friday, Sat and Sunday off of work). I am a very novice hiker to Florida, in fact I am not famliar with the trails here at all. It would therefore be very beneficial for me to find someone a bit more seasoned in this regard. I am particularly interested in taking part in some small 2 or 3 day 'thru-hikes' and working my way up to some bigger hikes as my physical condition improves.

I would currently rate myself as being able to do roughly 10 miles per day, or just slightly above that. If you are a 20+ miles per day hiker, I do not think I could keep up with you, at least not at this point in time. I do have some experience 'hiking' and in the outdoors, however it is not of a conventional nature (military, ex-marine). I plan to be 'get out there' very soon, so it would be great to have some company. I would like to encourage anyone interested in joining me to feel free to contact me via e-mail. Thank you for reading.

Stump46
12-30-2007, 15:49
Jose -
Check out the Florida Trail Association. There's a chapter in your area. There's lots of great hiking on the Florida trail!

ieraseu
12-30-2007, 16:10
It sounds like a great trail, I have been reading their website.

Mercy
12-30-2007, 17:25
Jose,

What about as far up as Ocala National Forest? You could drive up after work on Thurday (there are camping areas you can reach by car) and then hike Friday, Saturday, and part of Sunday before driving home.

If we name a date and place, others would probably meet up.

Linda

ieraseu
12-30-2007, 18:13
Hi Linda,

I'd definitely be willing to do that. I want to see if I can 'field test' my gear next weekend somewhere close to home (since it's new in box at this point), but anytime after that I would be willing to head out wherever.