PDA

View Full Version : PDA Proposal

SGT Rock
12-23-2003, 06:16
Recently someone in the Army decided I needed a PDA to do my job better. Not being the kind of person afraid of modern devices, I started playing with it and thought about its posible aplication to hiking. Apparently some other people before me have put some thought into it, but I thought I might throw it out here:

Hiker PDA (A.K.A Swiss Army PDA)

Issue: Pack weight reduction by implementing available technology in order to reduce single use items for backpackers with a single electronic device.

Discussion: Backpackers, hikers, field researchers, and other people that work or enjoy recreation in the outdoors often reduce weight by reducing the amount of single use items. Some items such as a first aid kit really have only one use but are essential because they are absolutely necessary in emergency situations. But besides that, there are some items that are so specialized that they only have one use such as a camera, map, radio, etc.

These individuals often compile journals while on trips to share with others, to save for later in order to add to photos, and for various other reasons such as research data. For many years backpackers simply used notebooks and pens to record their thoughts, experiences, photo data for processing, and other information. Many these days are using PDAs to produce text document like a MS Word document or E-mail for transmission via phone or Internet to their friends, family, and sometimes websites that specialize in hosting hiker journals. As smaller, more efficient PDAs become available and the ease of transmission for their files becomes the standard, the trend will only escalate towards their use by hikers as they become comfortable and familiar with the technology.