PDA

View Full Version : Feather Fire Stove

Dazzy001
01-14-2008, 10:56
i just ordered the Feather Fire Stove, What do yaw think of this unit from: http://www.packafeather.com, It's the Feather Fire XL. :-?

Thanks in advance.

Darren

SouthMark
01-14-2008, 11:03
I have been using one for about three months. It is a nice stove especially if you need to simmer. I take it along when I plan on baking and cooking in my pot as opposed to freezer bag cooking. It is well made.

bredler
01-16-2008, 02:25
how does the flame adjustment work?

SouthMark
01-16-2008, 10:31
It has an adjustable band around the air jets controlled with a small knob located outside of the windscreen.

g8trh8tr
01-16-2008, 18:49
They are a bit pricey for an alcohol stove but I love mine. The fact that you can control the temp/flame is awesome.

No Belay
03-16-2008, 09:58
I have only owned one long enough to use it on a three day hike but over all I'm pretty impressed. It's a nicely constructed stove with a very simple flame adjustment mechanism. I enjoyed it's fuel efficiency and the fact that I could extinguish the stove and recover any unburnt alky. The flame control knob is on a long flexible shaft which allows you to adjust it from outside the wind screen. Nice !

The down side of the stove is you have to set it on a flat metal surface for the simmering adjustment to work properly. If air can leak under the stove it negates the air/flame control. This adds additional weight but not much. I used the bottom of a Hungry Mn pot pie pan and it worked well. Also the stove is very susceptible to wind when the flame is turned down. I had to make a small depression for the stove and bank the wind screen with dirt to get good results. The lower temps, 30-35* may have been a factor here. I burned yellow Heet with mine and was impressed with the boil times.

Two Speed
03-16-2008, 10:12