PDA

View Full Version : Coating nylon taffeta tent floor. Yes, I've seen Jim Wood's silicone/MS article.

crazypete
01-15-2008, 13:35
Good day fellow hikers. I've been feinding over gear for a few months now. After buying and field testing many many tents and tarps and poncho tents, I've settled on my little Eureka Zeus 2LE.

http://www.forestry-suppliers.com/product_pages/View_Catalog_Page.asp?mi=2329

It's light for a 2 man tent, got plenty of ventilation and does not have any condensation problems even at below freezing temperatures. Holds up like a champ in the rain, has bug netting, storage pockets and you can sit up inside cross legged with plenty of headroom and still have space to lay out all your gear. Nuff said.

Here's the thing though. I always wondered why the tent does not have a "real floor". The snake scale, heavy plastic floor that the "cheap" tents have and thought of reinforcing the floor. It's a decnt nylon taffeta but I could see sticks and stones breaking its bones in short order. I carry a heavy plastic sheet to protect the floor but then though "if the floor's not strong enough then why isnt it?"

Now I've already nikwaxxed it (heck, I nikwaxed the entire tent) but I've been looking to see if anyone's done any outside the box thinking here. I read jim wood's article on "a treatment for silnylon floors"

http://jwbasecamp.com/Articles/Silnylon1/index.html

but I've siliconed (RTV'ed) some car seats before and HATED the way it felt. You were glued to the surface. Way too much friction. I consider this my last option.

Has anyone experimented with anything else like canned automobile underside rubberizer or latex paint or something else to impart some STRENGTH so I could just pitch my tent as is and never have to bother with the groundcloth again.

Thanks for looking!

Pete

saimyoji
01-15-2008, 13:46
Have you considered a hammock? Then you wouldn't need a floor. :D

guavaguy
01-15-2008, 14:00