PDA

View Full Version : Pack Recommendation

RANEY
01-03-2004, 01:09
Im fairly new to backpacking, but I think its time for me to purchase my own pack. I hope that you can point me in the right direction.

I have gone a couple of times, borrowing a friend's Kelty pack (not sure what kind, but its internal and about 3500 cubic inches large), and have found its a bit too small for my needs. We go for about four days at a time, and I'm probably carrying too much, but I still need something larger. I have found that i had to strap stuff to the pack awkwardly, and it made it really difficult to hike.

Im looking for something between 4000 - 5500 ci and under $150.00. It doesn't bother me if it's of internal or external design, just as long as it has a place where i can attach my tent and sleeping bag to (so as it doesnt mess with my center of gravity).

I have been looking at the Jansport Carson 80 and like how it is a mixure between internal and external packs. Any thoughts about this pack?

It would be greatly appreciated if you could recommend me other packs that fit my conditions.

(Im 17 and still growing, if that factors into your recomendation)

Valmet
01-03-2004, 09:34
Raney, go to www.rei-outlet.com. You may find what you want there. They have some very good prices on packs. 3 weeks ago I bought a JanSport Rockies II for $95.00. It is a very large pack that I will use for winter hiking. Check that site often you can get some really good deals. This past summer I picked up a Primus cannister stove for $17.00 and last winter picked up a Sierra Designs 15 degree down bag for $89.00. I have been in the process of replacing all my equipment this past year and have not found better gear or prices.

Peaks
01-03-2004, 09:42
Being 17, and still growing, I'd suggest two things.