PDA

View Full Version : total eqipment weight poll...

jnohs
02-01-2008, 19:05
what does everyones total equipment weigh in at. I guess this means everthing except you and the the clothes on your back.

Skidsteer
02-01-2008, 19:11
How many days of food?

rafe
02-01-2008, 19:18
If you mean "base weight" ... about 16 lbs. or so. (Base weight = all gear, plus pack, but without food or water or fuel.)

NorthCountryWoods
02-01-2008, 19:41
Best guestimate 25lbs base, but then I carry all the fuel and food.

Wifes is 15lbs without a water bottle. She carries no consumables.

jnohs
02-01-2008, 19:41
sorry this just goes to show that I am still a such a newbie. My hiking experince still limits my forsight. I guess I mean with out food fule or water. But that probably takes me down to 27#

Is there a moderator who could exchange this line with the orignall post question for more clarity?

"what does everyones total equipment weigh in at? I guess this means everything except you the clothes on your back and No water, Food or fuel"

SlowLightTrek
02-01-2008, 19:50
Ok what time of year is it?

slow
02-01-2008, 20:16
IN FL,summer. .and so water 4#max.

jnohs
02-01-2008, 20:26
I pack the same amount of clothes for a 2 night trip as I do for a 7 night trip. I am again for my lack of clarity. I guess I figured this poll would be only filled by multy day packers. when i see someone in my head hiking it is someone doing a multy day hike. i forget the day hiker exist. Sorry

jnohs
02-01-2008, 20:27
damit spring thru fall

jnohs
02-01-2008, 20:27
i am laughing my a@# off at how much stuff I forgot to querry.

maxNcathy
02-01-2008, 21:42
I am hoping to be under 8 pounds plus about 4 pounds for food and 2 pounds for water.
Gossamer Gear is so light.

rafe
02-01-2008, 21:44
I am hoping to be under 8 pounds with about 4 pounds for food and 2 pounds for water.
Gossamer Gear is so light.

That's impressive. Where'd you find the sherpa?

Bearpaw
02-01-2008, 21:51