PDA

View Full Version : Medical Experiments.

starfox
02-09-2008, 13:10
I'm a medical student from East Carolina University in Greenville, NC and I'm hoping to get a grant from my school that would allow me to backpack the AT for most of my summer.

I am proposing to study whether or not there is a correlation between the change (increase) in physical health that hikers almost unavoidably experience on the AT and a change in mental/emotional/spiritual health that they may or may not experience.

The physical aspect would include things like: Weight, blood pressure, body mass index, and resting heart rate.

The other aspects would be measured by filling out a survey.

Both would be measured periodically as you progress along the trail.

For the thru-hikers, does this seem like something you guys might be interested in participating in?

Bryant

ScottP
02-09-2008, 13:29
Someone does a study like this every year or two.

It's really too tough to have proper controls and to get a good sample size. You really can't compare an alcoholic, pot smoking, yellow blazing, snickers and ramen takes-7-months to yellow blaze the AT to a health nut that thru-hikes in 3 months.

ChinMusic
02-09-2008, 13:50
The physical aspect would include things like: Weight, blood pressure, body mass index, and resting heart rate.

I love this stuff. VO2Max and Cholesterol would be good to add if possible. I plan on doing something along those lines for myself when the time comes. It is something I am interested in and will add to my fun.

Twofer did an anecdotal study on himself last year. http://www.trailjournals.com/entry.cfm?id=210054

Here are some of the results of my pre and post hike physical tests.

Pre hike weight - 176.8 lbs
Post hike weight - 158.5 lbs

Pre hike body fat - 18.7%
Post hike body fat - 14.1%
That's a 24.5% improvement.

Pre hike VO2 max - 31.4 ml/kg/min
Post hike VO2 max - 39.9 ml/kg/min
That's a 27% improvement.