PDA

View Full Version : over 1000 miles without poles?

Tanya
02-12-2008, 13:53
This thread is relevant to the one about impact of poles.

I've hiked and camped all my life. I took my first camping trip was when I was 2 years old, on my father’s back.
In the past few years, I have done weeklong sections of AT in NH (Mt.Washington to Hanover), VT, MASS, doing between 10 and 17 miles a day with a heavy backpack (my friend and I carry extra chocolate and other luxury food, such as onions and canned meat when we hike sections of AT to share with thru-hikers). And last summer I trekked in the Condoriri area in Bolivia. So, even though I've never done seriously long trips, I have some experience with hiking and relatively strenuous terrain. But I only used poles once, in Bolivia, to ascend Huayna Potosí.

This summer I am going to hike the AT from VA to Maine. My question is: will I absolutely need the poles? I have no ideological objections to them (provided, of course, people don't drag them long them trail margins). It's just a matter of personal preference. I like my hands to be free. So I was wondering if anybody here has hiked without poles (over a week), and what do you think about it?

thank you for any input,
happy trails,
t.

Lone Wolf
02-12-2008, 13:56
no you will not absolutely need poles. i've never used them in 16,000 miles of AT hiking. hands free is the way

rafe
02-12-2008, 14:02
I hiked 25 years without them. No problems. Started using poles about 5 years ago. These days I much prefer to have them.

jersey joe
02-12-2008, 14:16
Tanya,
I had the same question when I began my thru. I hiked the first month or so without hiking sticks then wound up picking up two hiking sticks out of the woods to hike with. They grew on me. Gave my arms a workout and helped motor up hills. I never actually bought poles but I used sticks until Katahdin.

Foyt20
02-12-2008, 14:59