PDA

View Full Version : Leg Cramps

Fastforward
02-22-2008, 12:22
Would someone please explain leg cramps? Why after strenuous exercise do I have the leg cramps at night? Is there something I can include in my diet to prevent cramping? Will they abate with further conditioning.

Thank you

Survivor Dave
02-22-2008, 12:28
I am not a doctor, but in my experience, it is a build up of lactic acid in the muscles. I get them less often now as HYDRATION is key. The first few nights on Trail after not excercizing usually is the culprit.

SD

Would someone please explain leg cramps? Why after strenuous exercise do I have the leg cramps at night? Is there something I can include in my diet to prevent cramping? Will they abate with further conditioning.

Thank you

DesertMTB
02-22-2008, 12:28
You need to potassium!

I get that all the time from mountain biking. I'm usually too lazy to eat the right things during and after a ride.

Also, drinking a bottle of a sport's drink will help.

Survivor Dave
02-22-2008, 12:37
Thanks for the correction Desert.

You need to potassium!

I get that all the time from mountain biking. I'm usually too lazy to eat the right things during and after a ride.

Also, drinking a bottle of a sport's drink will help.

envirodiver
02-22-2008, 13:19
Increase electrolyte intake. The key is pre-hydrating, to get very well hydrated prior to using up a bunch of fluids. Once you get behind the hydration curve it's hard to catch up.

tazie
02-22-2008, 13:24
yep, good advice from everyone. What helped me was making sure to stay well-hydrated and increased potassium intake- especially bananas, dried apricots and potatoes. A good daily multi-vitamin, too. Good luck.

Appalachian Tater
02-22-2008, 13:29
Here's a good overview on the subject:

http://www.bupa.co.uk/health_information/html/healthy_living/lifestyle/exercise/running/cramps.html

Pennsylvania Rose
02-22-2008, 13:32
In addition, stretch your calves every time you stop.

GratefulHike
02-22-2008, 14:17