PDA

View Full Version : What would YOU do??

buddha small b
01-13-2004, 20:33
I'm new to the "White Blaze" community so first I'd like to say 'how 'do to my fellow A.T. enthusiasts!

I have what I think is an interesting question since it actually happened to me. But first a little background....It concerns "Leave No Trace" principles.

Principal #4, according to the A.T.C. manual entitled Step By Step, is "Leave What You Find" - "Don't take flowers and other sensitive natural resources. Don't disturb historical artifacts such as cellar holes and arrowheads".

Believe it or not, I was day hiking the A.T. around Hawk Mountain Preserve in stony Penns Woods, and happened to look down at the trail and there amongst the stones was a real honest to goodness arrowhead! It brought to mind ol' rule #4 and since I'm a firm believer of L.N.T. well... me and my conscience had one hell of a debate I'll tell you!

What I won't tell you, yet, is who won that debate! Right now I'd be interested in what you folks would do! This might make a good poll question.....

(and, by the way, it was not "planted" and I'll tell you how I know later)

Anyway... thanx for havin' me and, oh yeah, I'm tryin' real hard to thru-hike with the class of '04, but more on that later....

buddha small b

bladefreak
01-13-2004, 21:20
Here's one way to look at it:

LNT principles say that if you find trash in the wilderness, you ought to pack it out, even if it isn’t yours. So, assuming that that arrowhead was made and left by a native-American, [I]your[/] packing out [I]their[/] trash, right?

smokymtnsteve
01-13-2004, 21:24
don't feel real gulity if you took the arrowhead,,

trust me..I'm a LNT trainer

but I would have probably took it and had it placed in a museum.

cabalot
01-13-2004, 21:30