PDA

View Full Version : The ever Imaginary "degree rating" vs. What I will see April 1st.

ThoughtFoot
03-03-2008, 01:30
So I know the "degree" or "comfort" rating on a sleeping bag is pretty much hooey anyway, but I'm generally a very cold-blooded person. I have low-blood pressure, and especially when I'm sleeping, I don't always make ample body heat for my extremities. I have a "20 degree" Cat's Meow North Face bag that's tried and true (I've had it since I hiked Philmont in '98.) I also have a much lighter "40 degree" bag I plan on switching out to later on down the road when things get warmer. My question is, however, will the "20" be sufficient for early April in the mountains with my kind of blood pressure? Should I get a lower rated bag? Or is the weight not worth it? Any suggestions?

A-Train
03-03-2008, 01:34
I'd get a silk liner for insurance.

Check out jagbags.com. I've used a liner on both my long hikes and was very glad to have it. Adds 10degrees warmth and will keep your bag clean. Bring some long johns, a hat and a warm top and you'll be fine. Baring the freak storm (can happen) most nights should be a lot warmer than 20.

error
03-03-2008, 01:36
Someone with more experience might comment, but I imagine if you've got enough socks on your feet you should be fine. Maybe you could bring some chemical hand warmers for your feet, or something along those lines, just in case socks aren't fine?

fiddlehead
03-03-2008, 04:38
I also sleep cold. My 20 degree bag is old and has done a lot of hiking. I still would take it for an AT hike. But, i would take my 1 lb. micro-fleece liner for the start thru the smokies. It adds about 10 deg to my bag.

Also, search for and check out threads that mention the old hot water bottle trick. I've used it many times. no sense being cold if you don't have to.

gumball
03-03-2008, 06:21
Ditto on the silk liner. Very lightweight insurance, and it can get soooo cold in the higher altitudes (I am a very cold sleeper).

Egads