PDA

View Full Version : Nikwaxxed my singlewall tent! Oops! Did I just destroy its breathability?

crazypete
03-10-2008, 10:15
Good day fellow hikers! I have a wonderful Eureka zeus 2LE winglwewall tent that I've been messing around with for a few months now in these restless winter months.

Well, after not meeting with much success finding a suitable spray-on or spread-on strengthener for the relatively thin floor, I opted to just use the conventional ground sheet and blast the entire thing down with nikwax waterproofing. Hey...note to all of whiteblaze....DONT spray down your tent/poncho/whatever with nikwax in your bathtub. I swear. I've been working this bathroom for weeks trying to get it off the tub and the tile and everything still feels waxxy and gooey. And taking a bath is.....interesting. I feel very waterproof after each dip. LOL!!!

Speaks volumes of nikwax's durability though!

Well anyway, it occured to me that all this wax might negatively affect the breathability of my tent. Did I just make myself a portable sauna? If so, has anyone found a good way to disolve and remove nikwax?

orangebug
03-10-2008, 10:40
Breathability isn't a trait of single wall tents. The only reason to use Nikwax (usually on shoes) is to make it waterproof. If the tent wasn't waterproof to begin with, which I doubt, all you have done is to make it a bit heavier and slicker. I suspect you will have to choose your campsites extremely well, as you will slide.

Now, if the Eureka is a silnylon tent, you probably did nothing at all, as very few things will adhere to silnylon. You might want to "paint" part of the floor of your tent with some silicon sealant goo to make it less slippery. I just make a bead of the sealant in a few places, or a neat drawing of some sort.

Now, does the Eureka have seam sealant in place? That was the task you probably needed to accomplish from the gitgo.

crazypete
03-10-2008, 10:54
Thanks for the quick response!