PDA

View Full Version : Let me introduce myself....

YaZOO
03-10-2008, 23:17
Fellow thru, section, weekenders, wanderers, hikers....

My name is YaZoo. For the past year or so, I have been reading very intresting posts about the members' experiences and views on life. I must say that I feel at home here with the Whiteblaze community even though this is my very first post.

If you do not consider me a threat:eek: , Id like to tell you more about myself. :D

I have been hiking for about 18 years off and on and have just re-sparked the intrest of getting out into the great outdoors. The one and only philosophy that I hold true is that you should just "hike your own hike" and enjoy the things that the LORD has made for us. I dont consider myself an old fart, just yet... even though I'm a few years from being 40... but, I do feel my knees and legs giving way.... LOL

Since last year, I have been thinking about taking the AT Thru Hikers Plunge :-? and feel very unprepared in terms of mail drops, how much food to carry between towns, what is neeed, and what is overkill. I figure that many of you hammock-ers or tarp-ers out there swear by your philosophies - and scatalogically speaking; wearing one pair of knickers through the full 2000 miles from Springer to Maine is roughing it! I'm not that. Its all about the bare minimum but, still being confortable.