PDA

View Full Version : Thinking about a thru hike

hamburgffemt46
03-11-2008, 16:45
Hi i am new to this. I live in NJ not far away from the NJ section of the AT and have talked about doing a tru hike and looking for advice and and heads up and all that kind of stuff. im not realy a hicker or a camper but would like to get into it thanks for any help

Lone Wolf
03-11-2008, 16:48
you a hicker? that's your new trail name. :) welcome aboard. fire away with ???

Tin Man
03-11-2008, 16:50
Check the articles section on the left side of the home page for a wealth of information.

emerald
03-11-2008, 17:05
When it comes to thinking about a thru-hike, you've got to be careful. Thinking can make or break a thru-hike. It might even be the most important thing about a thru-hike, except, of course, the hiking part.

JAK
03-11-2008, 17:22
HamburgerHicker,
Welcome aboard.

How much hiking or camping have you done so far? Do you live close to many trails you can do some simple 2 day 1 night weekend trips? They are a great start. Keep it simple.

Ask some specific questions.

hamburgffemt46
03-11-2008, 22:28
i havnt done any hiking since highschool about 5 years ago. As far as trails go i live in sussex county with 2 state forest and i believe the section of the AT that goes thru NJ goes only thru sussex so i have that. Ive been talking to friend about going out doing day trips and weekenders and moving up 2 week trips. I have about another year till i finish school and then i plan to go. I printed out alot of those articles and have to read them still. I think the big question is other than hiking and just walking is there anything else i should do to prepare. thanks for your help and excuse the spelling i failed that in HS one year so thats my excuse lol

Programbo
03-11-2008, 22:30