PDA

View Full Version : I'm new here...

Thru Hiker Wife
03-13-2008, 00:13
I've read WB fairly frequently since the missing hiker ordeal and as we came closer to my husband starting his thru hike but this is my first time posting here. Well, today was the big day! Dropped him off at Springer this morning and he's off and hiking. Will see him one last time next week in Hiawassee and then not again until he comes off the trail--whenever that may be. I'm just wondering if any other thru hiker wives are on this forum? Any suggestions for helping the family of a thru hiker cope? Truth be told, I guess I'm just looking for some support. I wanted him to do this as it's been a longstanding dream (since before we met) and I want this dream to come true while he has the chance. On the other hand, it's also somewhat self serving as I don't want him to resent me later. I think I'm just considered on all fronts...his safety, missing him, financial strain, me resenting him, MONTHS ALONE, blah, blah, blah. So wondering if I can maybe find my way into this "little" family for love, support and maybe even gain a better understanding of his drive to do this. Hope you all don't mind me crashing the party too much.

Survivor Dave
03-13-2008, 00:28
:welcome

What is your Husbands Trail Name?

Maybe the Moderator in charge might move this to the Womens forum. I think you could get straight forward advice without the others throwing your topic about:D.

SD