PDA

View Full Version : Best sock value.

Stir Fry
03-16-2008, 12:59
I just wanted to let every one know about the best sock value there is. I just replaced mine again 4th time. Bas Pro has Red Head all-purpose Hunting/ Hiking Socks with a Life Time Guarantee this includes normal wear. They are 88% Merino Lambs wool 10% Nylon 2% Spandex. Heels and toes are reinforced. Cost is around $ 10 a pair. My longest single trip was about 88 miles, and I had no problems I have been using the same three pairs for 4 years. Return is as easy as picking up new socks and exchanging them at the counter.

Summit
03-16-2008, 16:02
I just ordered three pair of Thorlo KXs (hiker/thick). Got them from, of all places, Public Safety Leaders dot com. $34 for three pair and no shipping charge.

Figured it's time to replace my 17 year old Thorlos, even though they seem to still be fine. I'll let them retire to around the house use . . . see if I can wear a hole in them around the house without shoes. That's a testimony in itself! ;)

That sounds like a pretty good way to go on the Bass Pro Shop Red Head socks. Problem for me is, there isn't a store close by.

Tobit
03-16-2008, 20:56
I like the DeFeet WoolEators (http://www.defeet.com/products/product.php?a=socks&b=40&c=36) for $10.

margo
03-17-2008, 11:41
I just ordered some smartwools that were on sale for 7 bucks from campmor, one of their light adrenylin models.

I've noticed a big differance between differant styles of the same brand. In other words, if you've tried one type of wigwam or thorlo sock and it sucked, it doesn't mean the whole brand sucks.

17 years is pretty impressive! I have a couple pair of thorlos but they are heavy wt ones that only get worn every now and then. I got a differant style of thorlos on sale, just one pair, that are heavily padded on the bottom but thin on the top. They don't work well in my boots but are awesome slippers. They are probably discontinued, I wish I had another pair.

JAK
03-17-2008, 11:52