PDA

View Full Version : Trail Conditions of AT

horicon
03-19-2008, 09:45
How are the trail conditions near Harpers Ferry, WV??

Appalachian Tater
03-19-2008, 11:40
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/a/a4/C_and_O_canal_bike_trip_042.jpg/400px-C_and_O_canal_bike_trip_042.jpg

Here's what it looks like for a couple of miles north after you cross the bridge.

buff_jeff
03-19-2008, 13:23
North of Harpers Ferry is cake. I have no experience south of it.

Locutus
03-19-2008, 13:34
I thought bikes were not allowed on the trail?

buff_jeff
03-19-2008, 13:37
I thought bikes were not allowed on the trail?

The trail is on the C&O Canal Towpath for a few miles north of Harpers Ferry.

Blissful
03-19-2008, 13:37
South you go up on a ridgeline which has some Civil War trenchwork, etc. Interesting history.

Blissful
03-19-2008, 13:39
The trail is on the C&O Canal Towpath for a few miles north of Harpers Ferry.

Yeah, fun ducking around them too. We hiked that stretch Memorial Day weekend. But we did get some families ask us about our hike. One looked us up on trail journals and signed my guestbook.

horicon
03-19-2008, 13:42
I am going to be in Harpers Ferry from Sunday evening to Wensday morning.

BT

Lauriep
03-19-2008, 19:18
On Saturday my husband and I (wearing our PATC hats, I mean "helmets") cleared the section from Keys Gap/Route 9 north to the powerline and our own section from Blackburn south to Wilson Gap . Most of the handful of blowdowns were relatively small. We've heard other sections in northern Virginia (at least north of VA 7) are clear or have just a few minor blowdowns. Maryland north of Harpers Ferry is all clear as far as I know.

Still no sign of spring in the woods, but no snow on the ground either. The most spectacular wildflower display close to Harpers Ferry on the A.T. is a colony of trout lily about a tenth of a mile or two south of the Shenandoah River bridge--they bloom around April 10-20.

Laurie P.
ATC

horicon
03-20-2008, 05:18