PDA

View Full Version : no AT for me, not now, maybe never

Tanya
03-21-2008, 19:50
HI, everybody, just wanna whine a bit. Hiking the AT has been my dream for many years. Since I was an undergrad when I first learned about the trail, (and then graduate) I could not afford hiking the whole thing:money and time constraints. So my friend and I hiked sections of it, all the time dreaming about doing the whole trail.
This summer it finally looked like the right time to do it. Since I now work at a community college, I only have 3.5 months free. So I was going to start in VA around May15 and get to Maine by the end of AUgust. Not quite the whole thing, but close enough. I would have been happy and satisfied with that. And in any case, I was going to finish the rest next summer.

So my heart was set on it. I told my husband about my plans in February; he knew of course about my dream but I guess he never took it seriously enough, so it was a shock for him. He said he did not wish to duscuss it right then and there. I understood it to mean that he just needs to get used to the idea; to process the significance of it. Essentially, I foolishly understood it as a yes. So I was very happy and began looking for deals on equipment.

Today we finally talked. And it turns out that my husband is absolutely against me taking off for 3.5 months (and thru-hikers know that section hiking is not a substitute for a few months of continuous hiking). So we had a long and upleasant conversation, and finally came to the understanding that he does not support me in this. He does not want me to go. I even tried emotional balck-mail - I was desperate, but nothing doing. And of course, I am not going to leave under these circumstances. This is not a week-end trip.

So it looks like no AT for me. I am hugely upset and am crying as we speak. Sorry for such a long rambling message. But this is the only place where I can find sympathy and understanding in this matter.