PDA

View Full Version : Sil shelter geometry

chris
01-23-2004, 14:39
For those of you who have used an ID sil shelter, what is the effective length? I've seen the numbers on the ID website, but they only give overall length, not effective length. By effective length, I mean something like the distance from the pole to the end of the shelter. Better yet, from the pole to the point where a sleeping bag would touch against the fabric. The length, of course, is going to be partly determined by how high the shelter is set up and how low to the ground the edges are staked. I really like the idea of Henry Shire's tents, but at 93" they don't improve on what I have already. I've looked into a couple of catenary cut tarps that seem long enough, but am not entirely satisified with those either.

hungryhowie
01-23-2004, 15:54
I've been using a sil shelter exclusively for nearly 4 years and have put over 2000 miles on it (including over 1400 on the AT). If you are really concerned with the exact length, I could set it up for you, but if its just an assurance you're after, I can assure you that it's big enough (it's huge, for pete's sake!). I set it up slightly different than what all the pictures show. After using it for so long, this is the best config that I can find.

It actually looks very much like Henry's Squall with an extended beak if you were to replace the curved rear pole and substitute a trekking pole. Here goes--

A trekking pole at the apex (like normal) and another collapsed (~12-18in) at the rear create a sloping "A" frame. The rear corners are staked to the ground. The front corners have about 24-30" of cord tied to them and are staked out from the tarp. This lifts the corners off of the ground about 8-10" and gives tons of more room and ventilation.