PDA

View Full Version : Mail Drops...How?

Scup
03-22-2008, 09:05
I'm very new to this and am trying to plan my first thru hike for my 45th birthday. Everything I've read about the hike suggests doing mail drops but don't go into datail. Do you mail everything at once to each location or do you mail it to the first place, then replenish and mail it along?

Also, has anyone used Sierra Trading Post to buy equipment, I was thinking of doing so.

Thanks!!

Scup

DavidNH
03-22-2008, 09:49
Scup,

First off, you don't need many mail drops as you can buy food almost anywhere along the AT. You are never more than a few days hiking from towns (except in far northern section).

Check out Jack tarlin has posted a lengthy article on the subject of mail drops and re-supply. Excellent advice.

David

lonehiker
03-22-2008, 09:56
Sierra Trading Post is a great place to buy gear. If, they have what you are looking for.

PJ 2005
03-22-2008, 10:46
The real questions is:

Mail drops... why?

You'll stay lighter and more satisfied buying food along the way. Fontana and the bird town in Penn are the only places where food is not plentiful (that I remember, anyway)...

Also, make sure you put a lot of thought into your gear. My dad loves to hike, but he's a traditional 40+ pound guy. There are many, many benefits of keeping it under 30, and he really had to swallow his pride to buy into it.

Obligitory recommendation for the best pack in the world... Vapor Trail :)

Jason of the Woods
03-22-2008, 16:19
Sierra has always been great for me. Shop around. There are a lot of good sites for gear.

bigcranky
03-22-2008, 16:38
Mail drops: usually you would have someone at home mailing them out as needed. That way they can add anything you might need, provide some food variety, and send them at the appropriate time. (You can't expect the post office to hold a package for 4 months.)