PDA

View Full Version : Ursack: successful on AT?

McIntyre
03-26-2008, 14:31
I'm new to AT-land and understand that rope & stuff sack is one good way to keep the bear from eating your gorp. Advice please, anyone with experience -- gossip, even -- using the Ursack ballistic-cloth bag, either set out on ground or used as bag from rope? Thanks.

Appalachian Tater
03-26-2008, 14:32
Mice are a much bigger issue.

bigcranky
03-26-2008, 16:10
Our first section hike, we hung our food on the bear cables in Georgia, only to wake up every morning to little holes in our food bags and mouse droppings inside. Ick.

Now we use an Ursack or two. They keep the small critters out -- mice, flying squirrels, even raccoons. (I watched a raccoon trying to get inside my Ursack for a while, he was pretty frustrated.) I don't worry about bears on the AT, so that's not a factor in my decision.

My Ursack TKO with an odor proof liner bag weighs 6.6 ounces. If you add up a food bag, 50 feet of rope, a carabiner, etc., the Ursack isn't much heavier, and it's lighter than some system's I've seen out there.

GGS2
03-26-2008, 17:42
I haven't used an ursack yet, but I think I'm going to try one out next chance I get. I like that it frustrates the small critters. They are much harder to deal with than bears, most of the time anyway.

Deerleg
03-26-2008, 18:56
…Perhaps for the ultra lightweight guys maybe you can go without. …In 20 plus years of distant hiking the only time I have had problems with mice have been in shelters. The 90% of the time I stealth camp in areas that are not established, mice and other larger critters don’t know where to look, and the risk of a chance encounter…well it hasn’t happened. Just a thought…It sounds like the ursack will work if you will be staying in established areas.:)

Tipi Walter
03-26-2008, 19:03