PDA

View Full Version : Snake Identification

Bulldawg
03-26-2008, 21:50
Hey, what kind of snake is this dude. He was sunning himself Sunday afternoon up on Tray Mountain and my son wants to know "exactly" what kind of snake it was. I just am 99.9% sure it was not poisonous. Thanks in advance for answers!!

Wise Old Owl
03-26-2008, 21:53
Garter -non posionous

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Garter_snake

saimyoji
03-26-2008, 21:53
Eastern Garter.

nice pic

Bulldawg
03-26-2008, 21:56
Cool, I am not a real snake identifier. I just know how to look at eyes and look for pits behind the mouth. But since I am not a real pro at identifying them, I just steer clear. This dude had to get a little prodding from a hiking pole before he'd move. We watched him for like 10 minutes hoping he would move on his own. But he was not going to be deterred from hanging out in that warm southern spring sun. A little wave or two in front of him moved him off the trail.

Thanks for the answers!!

Tin Man
03-26-2008, 22:02
Cool, I am not a real snake identifier. I just know how to look at eyes and look for pits behind the mouth. But since I am not a real pro at identifying them, I just steer clear. This dude had to get a little prodding from a hiking pole before he'd move. We watched him for like 10 minutes hoping he would move on his own. But he was not going to be deterred from hanging out in that warm southern spring sun. A little wave or two in front of him moved him off the trail.

Thanks for the answers!!

Don't shake, prod, or pole the snake out in the open. You don't want to get caught playing with it.

Bulldawg
03-26-2008, 22:22
Don't shake, prod, or pole the snake out in the open. You don't want to get caught playing with it.

Had I even remotely thought it was poisonous, I would have just probably given it a wide birth and went by it. Like I said, I was 99.9% sure it wasn't, so I gently moved him out of our way.

Tin Man
03-26-2008, 22:27