PDA

View Full Version : Harpers Ferry to Katahdin in 63 days?

ticky
03-27-2008, 12:41
How sane is this? I have limited backpacking experience, and am not exactly in great shape, but I do have significant hiking experience. Is a ~20 mile a day pace as insane as it sounds?

Starting May 18th, for refrence.

Jack Tarlin
03-27-2008, 12:48
It can certainly be done if you're prepared to get up early, hike all day, and have limited town time.

Also, be aware that Maine and NH are quite difficult and your mileage will go down, so try and push harder in the Southern part of your trip.

What concerns me is that you say you have limited hiking experience. A 20 mile per day average is tough in any case, especially if you're new to this. If at all possible, I'd try and add a few weeks to your trip's itinerary, or consider leaving a few hundred miles of your trip for another time.

63 days from Harpers is doable, but it won't be easy.

Dholmblad
Unless you are young and in good shape, you will not be able to start with 20~ days. But theres no harm in trying.

Lone Wolf
not insane at all. go for it. you're young. you'll learn as you go

A-Train
03-27-2008, 12:54
Doable, but not easy.

Go light, be in really good shape when you start and minimize zero days. In fact try to avoid them unless you really need one. Take some neros instead.

Maximize daylight. May through July will provide long days. Don't limit yourself to shelters, it cuts back your mileage. If you get to a shelter at 5pm and the next shelter is 9 miles away, most will stay and hang out. Cook, move on, hike another couple hours and camp.

Good luck, have fun

clured
03-27-2008, 13:37
Absolutely no problem. I did the trail last summer (19 when I started), and averaged 26 mpd. The trip was my first overnight backpacking trip.

Bare Bear
03-27-2008, 13:48
WHY????