PDA

View Full Version : Heart Rate Monitor

FeO2
03-29-2008, 12:22
Hi All,

Any recommendations for a monitor that is comfortable to hike with?

I am a cubical dweller by trade, typically I get on the trail from early spring to late fall, weekends and any other time my wife will let me out!:D

This year I am planning a 175 miler, the AT through NH.

I want to train this spring with a heart rate monitor.

I looked at what was available on Amazon; there are many, all targeting specific sports with tons of comments and ratings. Lots of stuff to plow through, after looking I didn't find anything that stuck out as an obvious winner for distance hiking. Actually, I more confused as to what would "fit the bill" now than before I looked.

Thanks;)

take-a-knee
03-29-2008, 12:29
FE:
You shouldn't need a heart rate monitor on your hike. I wouldn't want to wear that chest strap all day. I do reccomend you train with one. After you've trained with one for a while you can estimate you HR, IE, you know what a HR of 150 or 170 feels like. I just use the basic Polar, there are several brands out there now.

FeO2
03-29-2008, 12:39
FE:
You shouldn't need a heart rate monitor on your hike. I wouldn't want to wear that chest strap all day. I do reccomend you train with one. After you've trained with one for a while you can estimate you HR, IE, you know what a HR of 150 or 170 feels like. I just use the basic Polar, there are several brands out there now.

Exactly, I want to train with one so I estimate my performance. Typically I go out and hike hard for the first couple hours, rest, then hammer away the rest of the planned mile for the day.

I want to better understand and be able to identify my level of effort and how that translates over to my performance over the day.

So, any Polar product will work? They have quite a few.
Anybody have opinions about one over the other for any particular reason?

Thanks,

take-a-knee
03-29-2008, 13:30