PDA

View Full Version : Thru-Hiking in 3 months

Ch4d
04-01-2008, 16:27
I'm thinking about shooting for a 3 month thru-hike my first time. I've wondering if you guys have any advice to help I would appreciate it.

I want to do 25 miles a day, every day. Anyone know if how much I'll need to be eating? Or what I could possibly carry to add up to enough calories to push myself.

I'm currently 5'10, 177 Lbs. Just recently started some basic training. Any advice there? What kind of shape should I be getting into before starting a fast thru-hike? I'm already backpacking almost a hundred miles a month, though only been out for a couple days at a time at most so far.

I've got a lot of experience with 2 to 3 day trips, a very large amount of day hikes under my belt. A good amount of wilderness survival skill and outdoor and weather experience. Being wet doesn't stop me from moving, being cold gets me moving more and faster. Being both, even more. I have been doing 20 to 25 mile days recently within 2 months of starting back up.

oh and I've got a year or two to prepare for this, I intend on drying my own food and eating well.

Thank you guys!

Ch4d

warraghiyagey
04-01-2008, 16:29
With the questions you're asking, maybe a 90 day plan isn't the best way to approach the trail.
From my understanding, the folks who have done the trail that quickly were experienced distance hikers.

Sly
04-01-2008, 16:30
Can you hike 25 a day now with 3000 or more feet of elevation gain/loss? If not you're likely to get injured the 1st week.

Appalachian Tater
04-01-2008, 16:32
Scott P wrote a good article on pretty much what you're talking about but darn it if I can't find it. My manual searching and googling powers just aren't working right today. Why don't you send him a Private Message asking for it?

wilconow
04-01-2008, 16:35